Wetherby Golf Club is an 18-hole parkland course set in idyllic Yorkshire countryside. The Club is close to the market town of Wetherby and borders the picturesque village of Linton. Renowned for its verdant fairways, the course offers great entertainment and a challenging but fair test of golf.
Added interest is provided by the old Leeds to Wetherby railway line, the embankments run through the heart of the course and the River Wharfe which serenely borders many holes.The course is located on the former site of Wetherby racecourse and was re-designed in 1919 by the legendary architect, Alister MacKenzie. Looking back and bearing in mind the course is now reputed to be one of the best in the area, the fee of ten guineas was money well spent. Measuring 6,663 yards in length, from the White Tees, with a par of 73, the course is a great test and suitable for golfers of all age and experience.
Golfing facilities include:
- Practice Ground
- Driving Range
- Short Game Area
- Putting Green
At Wetherby Golf Club we are proud to offer superb social facilities; our friendly, efficient staff are focused on the provision of excellence.
- Pro Shop: Yes
- Driving Range: Yes
- Chipping Area: Yes
- Putting Green: Yes
- Buggy Hire: Yes
- Pull-cart Hire: Yes
- Club Hire: Yes
- Teaching Pro: Yes
- Walking Allowed: Yes
- Cards Accepted: Yes
- Policy Here: No
- Dress Code: Proper attire required
- Website: www.wetherbygolfclub.co.uk
- Telephone: +44 (0)1937 580089
- Email: email@example.com
- Address: Linton Ln, Wetherby LS22 4JF
Mon-Fri – from £25
Sat-Sun – from £30
Clubhouse & Restaurant
The restaurant at Wetherby Golf Club provides the perfect setting for all occasions, be that a private meal for 2 or a large party. The spacious dining room has capacity for 120 guests, with picturesque views over the 1st and 18th holes and the course beyond.
Particular emphasis is placed on providing seasonal and local produce, from English breakfasts to taster menus to lavish banquets. Our award winning Chefs have gained experience both locally and nationally and Professional pride is taken with every meal served.
Whatever the requirement our Chefs have the versatility and expertise to deliver. An extensive bar menu is available daily from serving hot and cold sandwiches, breakfast bites, daily specials and hot drinks.
Golf had been played around Wetherby long before our founding fathers leased part of the original steeplechase course from Lord Leconfield. The last race meeting traditionally held on Easter Monday and Tuesday took place here in 1890. Increased rent demands resulted in the organisers looking for an alternative so the steeplechase course moved to its present location at the side of the Wetherby to York Road in 1891.The first meeting has been described as a “makeshift affair”, but by 1901 a Committee which included the newspaper proprietor Henry Crossley Jnr. had put the affairs and running of local racing on a firm footing. Crossley is mentioned because later it will be seen that this land owner, farmer and businessman in partnership with Joseph Hudson played a significant part in the future development of Wetherby Golf Club.
Although the founders of the club borrowed heavily from Lord Leconfield or his Linton Estate to fund the building of the clubhouse, the construction of the course and later to pay the rent, they must also have put a substantial amount of their own money into the project.
It is recorded how the Committee members were asked on numerous occasions for cash injections to pay pressing creditors and for that matter pay the staff wages. Like the regulations during the second war at least half the course was ploughed up for growing crops.
In 1919 Dr Alister MacKenzie made his second visit to the club. The first was in 1914 when he was asked for his advice on bunkering and to submit a quotation for constructing the new holes on the course. Mackenzie a Scot, with a medical practice in Leeds had taken a great interest in golf course architecture and was a founder member of Alwoodley. Together with Harry Colt they re-designed Colt’s original layout and today it is known as the Mackenzie.